just add water…

I’ve attempted the pool with all three boys by myself a few times and it just was not fun.  There were tantrums, I’m still not sure what they were about, and I don’t have enough arms to carry out multiple toddlers with flailing limbs.  As much as I want to take the boys out and do things with them, they’re just at difficult ages and when I’m outnumbered sometimes it’s just easier, and safer for the kids and my sanity, to stay home.

Well, yesterday Jacob was off with his cousins at the beach (picture below) so I decided to take Liam and Noah to the pool.  It wasn’t going to be a long trip, just enough for us to cool off and burn off some energy.  We ended up staying for nearly 3 1/2 hours.  Much longer than I had intended.  It was all due to some very friendly and helpful neighbors.  People have always offered to help with the kids when we’re at the pool but out of some fear of being bothersome, I’ve always declined the help.  But yesterday I gave in and accepted the help that they were so willing to offer, and it made all the difference.

The boys had so much fun and we were actually able to enjoy our time in the water!  Imagine that!  The fear of being a burden to someone or putting them out is so strong that a lot of times I end up making myself a martyr.  Which is just plain silly.  I have been feeling so isolated lately and have realized that some, not all of it, is my own doing.  I came across this article a few days ago and when I read it I initially thought it sounded like a bunch of hooey.  But after yesterday, it made more sense.  Anyway, it’s an interesting read 🙂

So, the point of the story is, accept help when it’s offered 🙂

What do you do when your kid starts using his big blue eyes to beg a bagel chip from a neighbor?  You run home for some snacks 🙂

satisfied with his goldfish and raisins, he no longer had to beg food from our neighbors

satisfied with his goldfish and raisins, he no longer had to beg food from our neighbors

nom nom nom

nom nom nom

Jacob at the beach

Jacob at the beach

