Grapefruit Sugar Scrub

This recipe is so very customizable.  You can use whatever oil you prefer (olive oil, apricot kernel oil, almond oil, etc.) or any combination of oils together.  I’ve used a combination in mine.  You could also just use all white sugar if you wanted.  And the scent?  Well, there are as many options as there are essential oils 🙂  I picked grapefruit because I just love the smell and it is perfect for springtime.  Around Christmastime I whipped up a batch of this and used peppermint essential oil… heavenly!  The general rule is to use 2 parts sugar to 1 part oil; adjust to your liking.

Grapefruit Sugar Scrub

You’ll need:

a medium sized bowl

1 cup brown sugar

3 tbsp. white sugar

grape seed oil (or your favorite oil or combination of oils) – about 1/4 cup

castor oil – about 3 tbsp.

kosher glycerin – about 3 tbsp.

apricot kernel oil – 1 tbsp.

grapefruit essential oil – about 15 drops

1.  Combine all ingredients in bowl and mix well.  Put it in a pretty jar, stick a pretty tag to it and it’s the perfect gift!   Or keep it for yourself, I won’t judge you 😉

It’ll last for approx. 2 months… but if you’re like me you’ll run out long before 2 months pass.

Read more about the skin benefits of castor oil, glycerin and grapefruit essential oil.

Forgive the picture, I forgot to get one of the scrub itself.  When I make another batch I’ll update it 🙂

Grapefruit Sugar Scrub... ready for gifting!

Grapefruit Sugar Scrub… ready for gifting!

The print came out itsy bitsy but it says, 'an invigorating springtime scrub made with brown and white sugars, organic grapefruit essential oil, castor oil, glycerin, apricot kernel oil and grapeseed oil.

The print came out itsy bitsy but it says, ‘an invigorating springtime scrub made with brown and white sugars, organic grapefruit essential oil, castor oil, glycerin, apricot kernel oil and grape seed oil.

Wondering where I got the fabulous graphics?!  The Graphics Fairy!  Every crafty (and non-crafty) gal needs a graphics fairy 🙂

3 thoughts on “Grapefruit Sugar Scrub

  1. I love that! Grapefruit is my favorite, too, and I love scrubs, so someday I’ll pull myself away from baking and try it! And I’ll take a muffin, too! 🙂

Comments are closed.