Chia Seed, Banana and Sweet Potato Muffins

Necessity is the mother of invention.

This pretty much sums up my cooking.  The kids gobbled up the pumpkin chia seed muffins that I made last week (and only posted about this morning) and since I’m trying to cut down on our processed food consumption I figured I should make another batch.  One problem though, I used the last of my pumpkin puree stockpile with the last batch.  What to do, what to do?  Lucky for me, and for you, I just bought a truckload of sweet potatoes.  Why you ask?  No real reason.  I’m just on a sweet potato kick lately.   And that’s great considering that they’re pretty darn good for you!  I know I’m not the first person to think of using these two (pumpkin and sweet potato) purees interchangeably, but it is the first time that I’ve done it, so I was pretty excited to see that lo and behold, it worked!

I made two batches today. With the first one I followed the original recipe exactly, aside from the pumpkin to sweet potato switch.  With the second batch I made a few changes.  This is the recipe from the second batch.

First, you’ll need some pureed sweet potatoes.  For my sweet potato puree I took 3 medium to large sweet potatoes, cleaned them up and placed them on a baking sheet in the oven at 425F.  After they were nice and soft, about an hour, I took them out and let them cool down a bit.  Once they were cool enough to handle I peeled their skins off (so easy!) and stuck them in my food processor.  This gave me about 2 1/2 cups of puree.

Also, if you don’t have oat flour or you’re like me and you simply don’t want to pay for oat flour, you can make your own.  Just pour rolled oats into your food processor, blender works fine too, and after about a minute you’ve got oat flour!  Woohoo!

Chia Seed, Banana and Sweet Potato Muffins

makes 18 muffins, 4p+ /each for weight watchers.

adapted from citronlimette’s pumpkin chia seed muffins

1 cup oat flour

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 tbsp. baking powder

1 cup brown sugar

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp ground cinnamon

1/2 tsp salt

2 tbsp. chia seeds

1 cup pureed sweet potato

2 bananas, mashed

1/3 cup unsweetened applesauce

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla extract

1.  Spray muffin pans with non-stick spray.  Preheat oven to 350.

2.  Combine all dry ingredients together in large bowl.  Mix well.

3.  Combine all wet ingredients in medium bowl.  Slowly add wet ingredients to bowl with dry ingredients.

4.  Fill up your muffin tins and bake for 18-21 minutes.  Enjoy!

These muffins were a hit with my boys.  In fact I had to hide the last 4 (that’s right, 4 out of 18!) in the freezer!

see the chunks of banana? mmmm…

cbsm2

take a big bite!

take a big bite!

 

 

