thanksgiving stuffing recipe

Here’s the recipe I use for my stuffing.  I cannot for the life of me figure out where I got it from, it’s not something that I cooked up (ha! sorry, I couldn’t resist!)  in my head, but here ya go!  And, as usual, I didn’t follow the directions precisely.  My changes are in bold.

9-10 cups stale, hard bread, shredded into 1″ chunks  I just used prepared bread cubes, cause I’m lazy like that. 

3/4 cups unsalted butter, melted

12 oz, crimini or button mushrooms, cleaned and chopped

2 medium yellow onions, coarsely chopped

6 cloves of garlic, minced or pressed

2 large eggs, beaten

3/4 cups chopped walnuts  I left the walnuts out of mine

1 tsp salt

1 tsp freshly ground black pepper

2 tsp dried rubbed sage

1 1/2 tsp dried thyme  I used fresh thyme, you just need to add a bit more

1 tsp dried rosemary  fresh rosemary too, again just add more

1 tbsp. poultry seasoning I didn’t use this, so I just mixed some garlic powder, onion powder and salt

1/4 cup chopped parsley

5 cups chicken broth, or as needed

In a large skillet, melt butter.  Add onions and celery and cook for about 5 minutes.

Add mushrooms and garlic and cook until mushrooms are barely tender, about 3 minutes longer.

Place mushroom mixture in a large mixing bowl.

Add salt, pepper, and other herbs and spices.  Stir to combine.

Stir in nuts.  Stir in bread pieces.  Stir in beaten eggs and 1 cup chicken broth.

Add additional broth until this bread stuffing recipe reaches your desired level of moistness, at least 2 additional cups.  You can add up to 4 additional cups for very moist stuffing.

Pour herb stuffing mix into a large, buttered casserole dish.  Cover with buttered foil.

Bake in a preheated 350 deg. oven for 45 minutes or until hot throughout.

Uncover and bake 15 minutes more, until top is crisp.

There it is!  Even with my changes it was still a very yummy stuffing!

One thought on “thanksgiving stuffing recipe

  1. Pingback: Gobble Gobble! | Pardon My Mess

Comments are closed.