spicy creamy corn recipe

I based my recipe off this.  I’m not a fan of curry and my husband is definitely not a fan of it either, so I subbed a hot spice for the curry and now I have my very own recipe that we love 🙂

1/2 of a red pepper, chopped

1 small yellow onion, chopped

3 tbs butter

1 bag frozen sweet corn (15 oz) – defrosted

8 ounces cream cheese – cubed

1/3 cup milk

1/2 tsp hot mexican chili powder **

salt and pepper to taste

In a sauce pan, saute pepper and onion in butter until tender.  Add defrosted corn and heat through.  Stir in cream cheese and milk until nice and creamy.  Add in the chili powder and salt and pepper.

** if hot chili powder is not your thing, add in something else!  I’ve used smoked paprika  a few times (delicious!)  I’ve used a chipotle seasoning mix that was fantastic. Just be careful when you’re playing around, depending on your tastes, you may want less than 1/2 tsp, or you may need more!

edited to add: I previously had 3 oz cream cheese, I am so sorry, this should be 8 oz of cream cheese!  As I was putting this dish together on Thanksgiving I realized that there was no way 3 oz was right…  I think I need to wear my glasses more often 🙂 

One thought on “spicy creamy corn recipe

  1. Pingback: Gobble Gobble! | Pardon My Mess

Comments are closed.