Gobble Gobble!

Here we are, two days from Thanksgiving and I am just now deciding on my menu.  Fortunately, for me and my tiny kitchen, we are keeping it small; just us and my mother-in-law.  We’re definitely having turkey and Joe made sure to buy his favorite jellied cranberry sauce (gag!) I prefer homemade, but this is proof that I do compromise every once in a while.  But that’s all I’ve got so far.

Hosting a big meal is something that’s relatively new to me.  Up until two years ago, we lived in Arizona where we had no family around us.  Sure, our families would visit us, but never for the holidays…something about not wanting to miss out on all the holiday parties with family?!  I’m still bitter about this.  So our holiday meals were pretty much regular dinners.  Now we’re in Massachusetts, in the same area where Joe grew up, and his family is here.  So it was inevitable that I would start hosting a few dinners instead of just going to dinners and gorging myself on other people’s delicious food.

Apparently my idea of traditional thanksgiving/christmas dinner differs greatly from Joe’s family.  And that’s fine, this is where the compromise comes in!  I’m learning to make sure that I include things that I know Joe’s family likes; not just things that I think they’ll like, there’s a difference!  And I make one thing that I really love, and if I’m the only one who eats it, then it’s just more for me.

So, let’s work through this together 🙂

  • I think I’m going to keep the turkey simple this year; salt, pepper and butter.  Maybe add some fresh herbs?!  Not sure yet.
  • stuffing, I’ll do in the bird.  I used this recipe last year.  It’s a pretty standard stuffing, nothing fancy but still tasty.
  • mashed potatoes, of course!  These are delicious.  I added a bit of minced garlic last time and will do so again this year.
  • spicy creamy corn.  It’s a spin on a curried cream corn recipe, subbing chili powder for the curry.
  • gravy!
  • canned cranberry sauce *sigh*
  • dinner rolls

And that’s it!  We have dessert covered; Jacob’s school did a pie fundraiser a few weeks ago so I have a chocolate peanut butter pie sitting in my freezer, waiting to be devoured.  Whew!  That wasn’t nearly as hard as I had been making it out to seem!  The food really is the easiest part of the holidays, it’s the family drama that’s the hard part.  But that’s a whole other post 🙂

