back to healthy eating

I’ve been slacking with my food lately, and not surprisingly, my weight loss efforts have slagged as well. I’ve lost 20 lbs since the end of June.  Crap.  I just realized that was just over 4 months ago.  My 20 lb loss does not feel nearly as awesome now.  Ugh.  Moving on… breakfast is a hard one for me. I’m not a morning person. The thought of making lots of dishes to clean up in the morning is not appealing and I loathe the easiest breakfast food, cereal.

Enter Simple Delights’ 100 Calorie Pack.  Baked eggs wrapped in a deli sliced ham cup, topped with scallions and shredded parmesan cheese.  It looks amazing and it tastes amazing, even if I did make a few changes.  My changes were based solely on availability; I didn’t have deli sliced ham or scallions on hand.  So I made mine with turkey bacon and skipped the scallions and the parm (I’ve made them twice now and was in such a ravenous hunger that I forgot to add the parm!)  They were still delicious, but I am not sure how my changes affected the calorie count.

My pictures are not nearly as pretty as Simple Delights’, but you get the idea!

The first time I used muffin tins.  They turned out really well this way, even if the bacon flopped over the egg.  Muffin tins, however, do not equate to easy clean up in my home.  Technically though, it was a super easy clean up for me as Joe did the dishes! 

Eggs in Ramekin

This morning I used a small ramekin with two eggs and two pieces of turkey bacon.  It just needed a slightly longer cooking time; 16 minutes instead of 12.  Even easier cleanup!  And I did the dishes this time!

So there you have it!  My super easy, super delicious and healthy breakfast!

2 thoughts on “back to healthy eating

  1. Hi there! I could have sworn I’ve visited this blog before but after browsing through some of the articles I realized it’s new to me. Regardless, I’m definitely happy I stumbled upon it and I’ll be bookmarking it and checking back regularly!

Comments are closed.